3.0 l SC engine from 1979 - magnesium?

• Good morning to the forum,

Unfortunately I have no experience (yet) with the G model - I drive a 997.1T.
    However, I have been thinking about buying a G model from 1973, the year I was born. But the magnesium problem has unfortunately put me off buying one.

My question: Does the 3.0 l SC engine from 1979 no longer have magnesium parts and therefore have a minor dry-running problem? Or are there also brittle magnesium parts in addition to the gaskets?

And a second question: how does the 915 gearbox drive?

Many thanks :blumengruss: to the forum and have a good and safe journey at all times:drive:

This post has been automatically translated.

• My question: Does the 3.0 l SC engine from 1979 no longer have magnesium parts

Mg ended with the 1977 2.7L engines.

and therefore a minor dryness issue?

If the engine has never been "done" -- then many are also wet as a gravel truck.

And even "done" -- is NOT a seal of approval.....

Or are there brittle magnesium parts in addition to the gaskets?

Dilas?

Dilas stud bolts.........................

Leaking oil cooler on the 6th cylinder.

- but drive 997.1T.

And second question: how does the 915 transmission drive?

Test drive 5-6 cars - then you can see for yourself.

1st traffic light test:

Push the clutch in - twenty-one - then 1st gear in - you can/must count how often this doesn't work at all or only with the most brutal force in 50 attempts.

2nd First gear back in after you have already been in 2nd gear -- i.e. when rolling with approx. 10km/h remaining speed -- how often and how often does first gear go back in?

BEFORE the saying comes up here once again:

"The situation doesn't even exist" outrage and murder"

I have the situation permanently in city traffic.

3rd gear change at 6500 rpm and 67km/h from first to second gear.

MANY 915s don't allow this either -- only with several attempts.